Skip to content

Dyslexia Therapy Reimagined

Carolina Vazquez

Location: Odessa, Tx.

Education: Bachelor’s from The University of the Permian Basin, Masters in Education with a concentration in Diagnostician/Dyslexia from Midwestern State University

Years Experience Teaching: 9

Years Experience In Dyslexia: 4

Teaching Experience

Bilingual Elementary Classroom Teacher: 2nd grade
Dyslexia Therapist: 1st-5th grade

Professional Affiliations

The Academic Language Therapy Association (ALTA)

Programs Trained In

Take Flight
Multi-Sensory Teaching Approach (MTA)

Age Range You Feel Most Comfortable With:
Any age.

Why did you decide to become a CALT?

The main reason I became a CALT was for my son who is dyslexic. At the time it was very difficult trying to get him tested and getting him the help he needed. I wanted to educate myself more in dyslexia in order to advocate and help other students who were also struggling readers. My favorite subject to teach in the classroom was reading. It was an amazing feeling to get the students who struggled in reading and seeing their growth at the end of the school year. I knew then I wanted to work with students who had reading difficulties.

Favorite moment working with dyslexic students?

My favorite moments working with dyslexic students are their individual “ah ha” moments. Having a student come in struggling with reading and seeing them make that progress. Seeing them build their confidence and being aware that they are capable of becoming successful readers.

Your goal when working with kids with dyslexia?

My goal when working with kids with dyslexia is to build trust with the student and family. Build a great relationship with the student and teach them to advocate for themselves. Provide the student with the tools they may need in order to be successful in reading.

Your teaching style, personality?

My teaching style is patient, caring, respectful, fun, and I set high expectations for each of my students. I want my students to feel comfortable, safe, and know that it is ok to make mistakes. We can learn and grow from our mistakes.

Any family details?

I am married and I am also a “boy” mom to 2 wonderful boys: Edgar (age 14) and Eyden (age 11). Family time is extremely important to me. We love to travel and our favorite place to go is the beach. I also enjoy the outdoors, reading, and of course fishing with my boys.

Back To Top