Skip to content

Dyslexia Therapy Reimagined

Christine Adams

Location: Dallas / Ft. Worth, Texas

Education: B.A.; M.A.T.; CALT-in-training

Years Experience Teaching: 23

Years Experience In Dyslexia: 7

Teaching Experience

I’ve taught students of all ages:

* Six years teaching Neuhaus Education Center’s Basic Language Skills curriculum to elementary school students;

* Five years teaching literature, reading, writing and study skills to middle and high school students;

* Four years working with college students in a leadership development program at Rice University;

* One year teaching in the Adult Literacy Program at Neuhaus Education Center;

* Assisted in a sixty-hour teacher-training program as a Shepherd for Neuhaus Education Center;

* Thirteen years of experience homeschooling, which included teaching phonics to groups of elementary age children as well as teaching Shakespearian plays to groups of students of varied ages and grades.

Programs Trained In

*Basic Language Skills
*Reading Readiness
*Scientific Spelling
*Multisensory Grammar
*Written Composition
*Developing Metacognitive Skills
*Teaching the Classics

Age Range You Feel Most Comfortable With:
I am comfortable working with any age student, elementary to adult.

Why did you decide to become a CALT?

Reading, the science behind reading, the neuroplasticity of the brain, the learning process, coaching to grow and overcome challenges, and building relationships . . . these are my favorite things and working as a CALT incorporates each of them in daily practice.

Favorite moment working with dyslexic students?

There are so many wonderful moments in this work! I get to hear students say, “Oh! Now I get that!” more often than I ever anticipated. My favorite moments are seeing students surprise themselves with their own progress.

Your goal when working with kids with dyslexia?

My goal is to teach the science and art of language so that students grow their ability to read, listen, reflect, speak, and write.

Your teaching style, personality?

My teaching style is warm and encouraging, yet also structured and systematic. We build a strong relationship as we work hard together.

Any family details?

I have been married for twenty-four years and have three children, ages fourteen to twenty. Our dog, Hannah, a flat-coat retriever and border collie mix, likes to pop into sessions and say hello now and then. Our family enjoys fishing, hiking, reading and shared meals.

Any extra anecdotal info you want to add?

I’m a big fan of reading aloud with your children from infant straight through the teen years. On occasion, I’ve helped families build read-aloud rhythms that work for them.

Back To Top