Skip to content

Dyslexia Therapy Reimagined

Dana Tompkins

Location: Big Spring, TX

Education: M. Ed., CALT, LDT

Years Experience Teaching: 22

Years Experience In Dyslexia: 11

Teaching Experience

I have been in the education field for 22 years. The first 3 years were as a special education teacher, the next 8 years as a second-grade general education teacher, and the last 11 years as a dyslexia therapist. I have taught dyslexia intervention to first graders through high school aged students.

Professional Affiliations

Academic Language Therapist Association (ALTA)
Texas Educational Diagnosticians’ Association (TEDA)

Programs Trained In

I am trained in Take Flight and Reading by Design.

Age Range You Feel Most Comfortable With:
1st grade and above

Why did you decide to become a CALT?

Teaching is a second career for me. As I become more involved in education, I quickly realized how important a good reading foundation is for students to learn. Thus, I decided to make it my goal to learn as much as possible to help students learn to read. Achieving a CALT certification is one goal in my learning process to help others.

Favorite moment working with dyslexic students?

My favorite moment in working with student identified with dyslexia is when they realize that they are making the connections needed to be able to read. When they first realize that reading is possible for them and that all their hard work is going to be rewarded.

Your goal when working with kids with dyslexia?

My first goal when working with students with dyslexia is helping them learn to break the code and begin to read. My second goal is helping them realize that dyslexia does not define them; that it is only a small fraction of who they are, like a single petal on a flower.

Your teaching style, personality?

I am a nurturer. This personality trait flows through to my teaching style. I like to work with students in a kind, caring manner offering encouragement. While I do teach using the processes and procedures of the Take Flight program, I am also aware that some students need more flexibility and support than others and prefer to gear my teaching to helping the student have a positive, successful experience.

Any family details?

I have been married to my husband, Troy, for 36 years. We have raised two children that are now adults with their own careers. I have 8 pets that I also consider my “furry” kids: 5 dogs and 3 cats. I like to be outdoors with my family, often camping or enjoying time in the mountains.

Back To Top