Skip to content

Dyslexia Therapy Reimagined

Elfi Perez Tucker

Location: Lubbock, TX

Education: BA from Angelo State Universityi

Years Experience Teaching: 27

Years Experience In Dyslexia: 10

Teaching Experience

The past 10 years I have been a Dyslexia Therapist working with students in 2nd through 12th grade. Prior to that, I taught 2nd Grade ESL, 3rd Grade ESL, and 4th Grade.

Programs Trained In

The Dyslexia program I am trained in is Take Flight.

Age Range You Feel Most Comfortable With:
9 and up

Why did you decide to become a CALT?

I want to give my students the best quality instruction possible.
the extra steps will allow me to do this.

Favorite moment working with dyslexic students?

My favorite moment working with dyslexia students is when they realize that they are able to read better than when they started therapy. They will look at me and say, “Miss, I couldn’t read that word before and now I can!” or ” I was able to read in class today.”
It is such a beautiful thing to see them smile and feel good about themselves. I just love how their self-esteem is lifted with that internal knowledge of what I had already noticed. You can tell a student they are doing better but, it’s when they recognize it for themselves that I know I am doing my job.

Your goal when working with kids with dyslexia?

My goal when working with a dyslexic student is not just helping them to become better readers or spellers, but to help them become their own advocates. To help them embrace their dyslexia as a gift, not a crutch. I want them to see their accommodations as a step ladder to where they are going, tools to help them be the best they can be.

Your teaching style, personality?

I am a very outgoing person. I want to get to know who my students are as a person, what they enjoy doing in their spare time. I want to build a relationship with my students. With that being said, I expect my students to be accountable for their therapy. I am honest and upfront about things being difficult at first and therapy requires practice. Just like sports or video games, you have to put in the work to be successful. As they are putting in the work, I will be there for them.

Any family details?

I have 3 grown children; two boys and a girl (OK, two men and one woman) and three grandbabies: Hudsynn 12, Marshall 7, and Shelbie7. Marshall and Shelbie are not twins. They are cousins born 2 months apart. They are my world. My Hudsynn was identified as dyslexic in 3rd grade. She is now in 7th grade and doing great! She passed her state reading test the past two years and loves to read. I live with my 87 yr. old mother and help take care of her. Chiquita is our very spoiled Chiweenie.

Any extra anecdotal info you want to add?

I retired in May and my mother, and I moved to Lubbock to be near my daughter, son-in-law and Shelbie.
I am loving working with Dyslexia On Demand as it allows me to have one on one therapy sessions with my students. I may have been ready to leave the classroom but not the students. I became a dyslexia therapist because I could see how much my dyslexia student were learning and I knew it was not just due to what I was doing in the classroom.

Back To Top