Skip to content

Dyslexia Therapy Reimagined

Elfi Tucker

Location: Lubbock, TX

Education: BA from Angelo State Universityi

Years Experience Teaching: 27

Years Experience In Dyslexia: 10

Teaching Experience

I taught 4th grade for 3 yrs, ESL/3rd grade for 11 yrs, ESL/2nd grade 3 yrs, Dyslexia Therapist 1st-12th 10 yrs.

Programs Trained In

I am trained in Take Flight and Reading By Design

Age Range You Feel Most Comfortable With:
9 and up

Why did you decide to become a CALT?

While I am not a CALT yet, I hope to take the test this year. My decision for doing so is to complete what I started 10 yrs, ago. I want to feel that I am equal to my peers in the dyslexia world. I have all the training, experience and passion as other’s who have become CALTs. I just have had a lot of challenges financial, and personal that have kept me from being able to complete what I started.

Favorite moment working with dyslexic students?

There are many favorite moments, but the ones that stand out the most are when a student who struggled to read cvc words finally breaks the code and is able to read words without having to sound out every letter. Not the moment I hear them but, that moment when they realize it and their face just lights up and they say, ” I can read!”. That is the most beautiful moment. The second most beautiful thing is seeing my dyslexia babies walking the elementary halls in their Senior cap and gown. It brings tears to my eyes. I can remember when many of them would cry in my classroom because they couldn’t read. Here thye are graduating. Love hugging those big kids with those big smiles that say, “I made it!”. I was blessed to experience that just last week,

Your goal when working with kids with dyslexia?

My goal for my students is twofold; first, to teach them how to read, secondly, to help them feel proud of who they are and empower them to be their own advocate. I also hope to instill in them a love of reading that will stay with them their entire life.

Your teaching style, personality?

My teaching style is a combination of traditional with some fun built in. I want my students to build a good foundation so, in the beginning, I pretty much keep with the structure of the program I’m teaching. This way students learn the lesson cycle, procedures, and rhythm of the program That being said, the student sets the pace we work at. Once they have the flow, I take time out to get learn about their interest and whatever they want to share with me. I am in their home, and they are in mine. That requires that we build a bond. Meet each other’s pets, siblings, my grandbabies, and whatever they would like to share with me. As for my personality. I am sociable, hard working, loyal, helpful, and outgoing.

Any family details?

I live with my 86 yr. old mother. We have recently moved to Lubbock, TX , to be near my daughter and her family. I have three amazing adult children; son’s and one daughter. I have three grandchildren that call me Bita. They are my heart!! Mom and I have a cheweenie named Chiquita runs the house.

Any extra anecdotal info you want to add?

I retired this school year after 27 yrs. I taught all 27 yrs. in the same school district. For an Air Force Brat who: moved every two years, lived on two continents, one island, and attended 9 schools in 12 yrs., the consistency was a blessing. I am proud to of my childhood that taught me how to be resilient. Thanks to it, I have also never met a stranger. It also gave me gaps in my education that I still work to overcome. This has helped me as a teacher. While I may not be dyslexic, I can relate to needing time to learn things others already know. It also gave me the opportunity to learn about people from all walks of life, color, race, and religions. I learned at a very early age that we are all more alike that we are different.

Back To Top