Skip to content

Dyslexia Therapy Reimagined

Julie Bergen

Location: Arlington, Texas Skaneateles, NY

Education: M. Ed., CALT, LDT

Years Experience Teaching: 31

Years Experience In Dyslexia: 22

Teaching Experience

Grade 2
Grade 1
Grade 1 Reading Recovery
Grade K-6 Reading Specialist
Grade 2-6 Dyslexia Therapy
K-9 Private practice including Reading Support, Dyslexia Therapy

Professional Affiliations


Programs Trained In

Reading Recovery
Take Flight

Age Range You Feel Most Comfortable With:

Why did you decide to become a CALT?

I have always been excited about literacy acquisition since my undergraduate work. I had many years as a first and second grade teacher which equipped me with many tools to help differentiate for struggling readers. From there, I have been supporting struggling readers ever since. I did one on one Reading Recovery with first grade students, small group instruction and then trained to be a dyslexia therapist. The reason I decided to become a CALT was somewhat of a natural progression. It seamlessly fit into my work on campuses and in my private practice. I love it!

Favorite moment working with dyslexic students?

Dyslexia isn’t limiting. It’s limitless. Most dyslexics are extremely bright! Encouraging them to be patient with themselves and they can be successful with any aspiration. When they realize they are special and they can actual BE proficient with anything they try brings me great joy. Confidence is the first goal I strive to instill in students when first starting therapy.

Your goal when working with kids with dyslexia?

My goals when working with kids with dyslexia are simple given the complexity of the task. Patience. Fairness. Confidence. Consistency. Practice. When these goals are in place, anything is possible.

Your teaching style, personality?

I have always been told I am so calm. I am not sure I see that in myself, but somehow it is displayed to others. So, I’ll take it! The calmness can help risk taking for the students and builds confidence which is half the battle. I have a very structured, consistent routine in my daily life which transfers easily to instruction for students.

Any family details?

I am married, have 2 grown kids, and 3 golden retrievers, I spend time in Texas and upstate NY.

Back To Top