Skip to content

Dyslexia Therapy Reimagined

Raela James

Location: Big Spring, Tx

Education: Master’s in Education (Reading and Curriculum), CALT, LDT – BA- Child and Family Studies- Teaching Certification EC-4th grade

Years Experience Teaching: 25

Years Experience In Dyslexia: 6

Teaching Experience

Before becoming a full time teacher I was a paraprofessional for 10 years and helped with our SPED and Autism students. As a classroom teacher I have taught 4 years of Kindergarten, 1 year of 2nd grade, and 4 years of 3rd grade. I have currently been a Dyslexia Therapist for the last 6 years.

Professional Affiliations

CO-Chair for Texas ALTA (West Region)
TDLR (Dyslexia Therapist)

Programs Trained In

Take Flight and Reading by Design

Age Range You Feel Most Comfortable With:
1st grade and up- (6 years- young adult)

Why did you decide to become a CALT?

I have always had a love for Reading and an even bigger love and passion to help students who were at risk or had special learning needs. I love to help them find the skills that they are good at and build on them. I also enjoy showing them the different rules for reading and spelling so that they understand why we read and spell words the way that we do. My son was diagnosed with Dyslexia when he was in the 3rd grade so this pushed me to want to further my education even more about Dyslexia.

Favorite moment working with dyslexic students?

My favorite moment when working with my Dyslexia students is when they are able to find their confidence and begin to become successful in their reading and spelling.

Your goal when working with kids with dyslexia?

To help students find their love for reading and build up their confidence so that they are able to accomplish their own dreams and become productive members of society.

Your teaching style, personality?

I have a structured and patient teaching style but still like to have fun conversations and build relationships with my students.

Any family details?

I have a 24 year old son who is Dyslexic.
I have one dog who is a chocolate lab named Tucker.
I have one horse named Daisy and I am the Princess for our 40 Something Cowgirls Chapter.
We like to horse back ride, go to craft shows and work in our yard when the weather is nice.

Any extra anecdotal info you want to add?

I have worked for the same school district for the last 25 years.
I have worked for Dyslexia on Demand for the last 3 years.

Back To Top