Skip to content

Dyslexia Therapy Reimagined

Rebecca Unruh

Location: Kansas

Education: B.S 1995, MAT- Dyslexia Specialist (graduation May 2024), QIT ( QI May 2024)

Years Experience Teaching: 19

Years Experience In Dyslexia: 15

Teaching Experience

Dyslexia intervention since 2009 (private therapy most of these years)
Part Time Dyslexia intervention in a private dyslexia school
Homeschool mom with 3 of my 4 dyslexic children graduated.

Professional Affiliations


Programs Trained In

Take Flight
Alphabetic Phonics
Dubard Association Method

Age Range You Feel Most Comfortable With:
I am comfortable with all ages 7 and up.

Why did you decide to become a CALT?

When my oldest son was diagnosed dyslexic in 2009, I threw myself into the world of dyslexia. In the years following my 3 other children were also diagnosed dyslexic. I was initially trained in Alphabetic Phonics and later trained in Dubard Association Method and Take Flight. Each program has deepened my understanding of dyslexia. I serve the local homeschool community as a private therapist and see my role as a partner with parents, teachers, and administration to create successful outcomes for our amazing kids.

Favorite moment working with dyslexic students?

Each student I have worked with has found a special place in my heart. The moment I enjoy most is when the spark is lit, and they ask for book recommendations for in their free time. For my local students, they can choose books off my shelf. Many come back the next session with the book completed. Pure joy!

Your goal when working with kids with dyslexia?

My goal is to create a safe environment for my students to grow, fail at times, and try again. I want them to feel free to ask questions, explore language and engage with words in a positive way.

Your teaching style, personality?

I aim to be a student of my student, creating a comfortable, efficient learning environment. I want to be diagnostic and prescriptive in my lessons, so that my students spend time on what they need.

Any family details?

I have been married to my husband, Scott, for 28 years. We have 4 dyslexic children. 2 boys and 2 girls, ages 24,22,20 and 15. We live in South Central Kansas where we have homeschooled all of our children. My husband is self -employed and we have a small farm we operate.

Back To Top