Skip to content

Dyslexia Therapy Reimagined

Tiffany Berkovitz

Location: McKinney, Texas

Education: B.S., M.Ed., CALT, CELTA

Years Experience Teaching: 13

Years Experience In Dyslexia: 3

Teaching Experience

Reading Specialist/Master Reading Teacher
Language Arts 6-11
Special Education
English as a Second Language

I homeschooled my own three boys for 12 years and then taught language arts at the middle school and high school level at a bilingual school in Mexico before returning to Texas to teach middle school. I have mostly worked with struggling readers and have been involved in designing and implementing language arts curricula. I currently work with students ages 6 and up.

Professional Affiliations


Programs Trained In

Texas Scottish Rite Take Flight

Age Range You Feel Most Comfortable With:
Any age

Why did you decide to become a CALT?

I have a love of reading and several family members with dyslexia. I love the science of reading and helping people make the connections needed to enable them to read and understand text is a passion of mine.

Favorite moment working with dyslexic students?

When that moment of excitement happens for a student and they are proud of their hard work, I feel immense joy. I always love when I get an email or a text from a prior student asking me for a book recommendation or letting me know what they are doing in their lives – then I know I have chosen the right profession. Students that go from hating reading to wanting to read for pleasure – that is my favorite thing about my job.

Your goal when working with kids with dyslexia?

My first goal is to build a relationship with my students and help them understand why we are doing what we are doing. Students need to feel safe to take risks and make mistakes. They are doing hard work and have to trust who they are working with.

Your teaching style, personality?

I am all in. I put my heart and soul into my work and I am very enthusiastic. I have high expectations for my students and they know I love working with them.

Any family details?

I have been married for over thirty years and have raised three amazing adults, Erich, Asher, and Jacob. We have some hairless cats and a dog that can’t bark. We love the great outdoors and I love to read, travel, longarm quilt, embroider, learn Spanish, and experience new things.

Back To Top